First Post

Hello everyone,

1.) I’m a physics major and I’m going to graduate in December. I took a History and Philosophy of Physics course last semester and we used the notion of a worldview a lot; it proved to be a useful term in discussing scientific and sociological change.

2.) My working definition of a worldview is this: A worldview is an interdependent, interconnected ‘jigsaw puzzle’ of beliefs. The more central pieces are more important to the beholder, and more difficult to alter or give up. The peripheral beliefs are fundamentally dependent on the central ones, but easier to modify without sacrificing the entire worldview. One’s worldview is always complicated, perhaps not carefully considered, and even the core is sometimes modified. In the history of science, it is useful to consider a collective worldview, which provides insight into the development and hinderance of scientific theories.

Experience is just the collection of events that one observes in their life.

3.) I was just talking about how unintelligible Bane is in the Dark Knight Rises with my friend Kevin recently. The tweet thing on the right side of the webpage reminded me.

Leave a comment